Home > Insights

Shelston IP Webinar: Being ready for patent litigation in Australia

  • Mar 09, 2021
Share

24 March 2021

2:00 PM (Los Angeles)

5:00 PM (New York)

25 March 2021

8:00 AM (London)

5:00 PM (Tokyo)

9:00 AM (Berlin)

7:00 PM (Sydney)

4:00 PM (Beijing)

9:00 PM (Auckland)

Abstract

Australia has long been regarded as a favourable jurisdiction for those seeking to enforce patent rights. However, there are important differences between patent law and litigation practice in Australia, compared to jurisdictions such as the US, Europe and Japan.  Those differences present both risks and opportunities for parties litigating patents in Australia. In this webinar, Principal Duncan Longstaff and Special Counsel Andrew Rankine, both specialist patent litigators, will identify aspects of Australian patent law and litigation practice that present potential traps for the unwary, and provide practical guidance on steps which can be taken before commencing litigation, or in its early stages, to maximise prospects of success. Topics addressed will include patent ownership and licensing, standing, pre-action discovery and preliminary injunctions, as well as post-grant patent amendments. Principal and ICT/EE patent attorney Tam Huynh will facilitate the discussion.

Authored by Duncan Longstaff and Andrew Rankine